Dieu de Ciel à Montréal

I recently had the opportunity to visit Montréal for a the Food Bloggers of Canada 3rd annual conference but I had an ulterior motive…

As soon as I heard the conference was in Montréal, I made up a list of places to visit which included restaurants and microbrasseries. Dieu de Ciel was at the top of the list, and even though we were tired from traveling, I knew that if we didn’t go together that very night, I wouldn’t get to visit any of the great micro breweries in Montréal at all.

We hopped in a taxi and arrived to a very packed pub, however, luck was on our side and we grabbed seat at the next available table in no time. We had some fun trying to decipher the menu of French beers and I didn’t realize I could have ordered a tasting trio until it was too late.

Instead I got stuck drinking a whole pint of Saison de l’argousier; a seasonal brew with buckthorn berries that I really didn’t enjoy at all. I didn’t know how I was going to finish it but felt that I just couldn’t leave it there. Hubby ordered a pint of the Rosée de Hibiscus, a nice hibiscus flavored wheat beer that turned out to be quite tasty.

After I choked down the last of the Saison, I ordered a tasting trio; the Rosée de Hibiscus, Route de épices (peppercorn rye beer), and the Péché Mortel (imperial coffee stout). They were all delicious and I wish I could have sampled more but I had to get going early the next morning. dieudeciel

About dishnthekitchen

food lover, food maker, food dreamer
This entry was posted in Canadian Bubbles, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

